Month: June 2007

  • Friday

    Today has been hectic … like any other day.

    After dinner, I had this urge to listen to Pinoy Radio and ended up listening to 94.7 Energy FM Cebu City. Very cheesy songs OMG! Despite the aged Romano flavor in my mouth I still can’t help but miss home. The language, the culture, the smell, the sights, food, people, heck .. even the stray dogs that roam the streets “asocena” anyone?

    Cebuano songs really crack me up. They can be very deep but maybe 80-90 percent of what people put up out there are just plain cheese. Man, I thought Yoyoy Villame and Max Surban were just plain silly but these newcomers take the cake man. Here’s a sample lyric …

    “Nganong imo man kong gibiyaan,
    niuban man ka sa imong amigong uwagan,
    maligsan unta mo ug trak
    kanang dako nga trak.”

    Translation:
    Why did you have to leave me
    you left with your ho–y friend
    I hope you both get run over by a truck
    A big Truck

    And oh yeah, I’ve been listening to all of this via my Fathers Day Gift.

    Enjoy your weekend folks.

  • A Guit-Harp? A Harp Guitar

    This is crazy, look at this instrument. It more looks like something thats used by the Inquisition than by an artist. The playing is pretty cool too.